Persons Day

Banner for Persons Day

Persons Day is celebrated on October 18.

The historic decision to include women in the legal definition of "persons" was handed down by Canada's highest court of appeal – the Judicial Committee of the Privy Council of Great Britain – on October 18, 1929. This gave women the right to be appointed to the Senate of Canada and paved the way for women's increased participation in public and political life.

October 18 is now celebrated as Persons Day, and the Governor General's Awards in Commemoration of the Persons Case are awarded each year in October to mark the historic Persons Case decision.

The five women who pursued the case have become known as the Famous Five. They were journalists, magistrates and politicians who were influenced by a number of reform movements that took root in the early twentieth century. Their arduous legal quest, which began in 1927, resulted in a milestone victory and was a turning point for equality rights in Canada.

#ClaimYourPlace

Throughout our country’s history, women in Canada have worked tirelessly to break down barriers and claim their place as equals. This year, to mark Canada’s 150th anniversary of Confederation, the Government of Canada is celebrating Persons Day by recognizing the countless remarkable women whose actions have changed the course of Canada’s democracy. Our past is filled with stories of extraordinary women who stood up for their rights and advanced gender equality for all.

Persons Day reminds us all that women’s voices matter. When women step forward and make themselves heard, the changes they create benefit us all.

Beyond the Famous Five

Activism for gender equality did not begin, nor did it end, with the Famous Five. By the time the Famous Five began pursuing the Persons Case in Alberta in 1927, they had benefitted from the legacy of a long line of diverse and influential women who had overcome barriers and advanced equality in their own time. Women like Mary Ann Shadd Cary, a civil rights activist who became the first Black woman in North America to publish a newspaper. Or Idola St. Jean and Thérèse Casgrain, who campaigned fiercely for women's right to vote in Quebec. Then there’s Mary Two-Axe Early, who fought on behalf of Indigenous women who lost their official Indian status when they married non-Indigenous spouses. In the years that followed, countless other women and men pushed even further for gender equality in all aspects of Canadian society. This spirit of activism and social justice lives on today and is recognized each year by the Governor General’s Awards in Commemoration of the Persons Case.

Date modified:

Journée de l'affaire « personne »

Bnnière pour la Journée de l'affaire « personne »

La journée de l’affaire « personne » est célébrée le 18 octobre.

Le 18 octobre 1929, le Comité judiciaire du Conseil privé de Londres a rendu une décision historique : le Comité, qui était le plus haut tribunal d’appel du Canada à l’époque, a reconnu aux femmes le statut juridique de « personnes ». La décision a ouvert les portes du Sénat aux Canadiennes et a préparé le terrain à leur participation accrue à la vie publique et politique.

Aussi, le 18 octobre est maintenant la Journée de l’affaire « personne » au Canada et, chaque année en octobre, on décerne les Prix du Gouverneur général en commémoration de l’affaire « personne » en mémoire du jugement historique.

Les cinq femmes ayant porté cette affaire devant les tribunaux sont maintenant connues comme les Célèbres cinq. Parmi elles, on trouvait des journalistes, des magistrates et des politiciennes souscrivant au courant réformateur ayant pris son élan avec le XXe siècle. La dure bataille juridique des Célèbres cinq, qui a débuté en 1927, s’est soldée par une victoire historique et représente un tournant décisif dans la lutte pour le droit des femmes à l’égalité au Canada.

#prendresaplace

Depuis la création du pays, les Canadiennes défoncent continuellement les barrières et prennent leur place aux côtés des hommes. La Journée de l’affaire « personne » met en lumière des femmes remarquables qui ont contribué à changer le cours de la démocratie canadienne, dont nous célébrons cette année le 150e anniversaire. Notre passé abonde en femmes extraordinaires qui ont fait valoir leurs droits et ont ainsi contribué au progrès de l’égalité des sexes au Canada.

Cette année, nous reconnaissons que grâce à elles, la démocratie canadienne est plus solide que jamais. La Journée de l’affaire « personne » nous rappelle que la voix des femmes compte. Lorsque les femmes prennent la parole pour revendiquer des changements, nous profitons toutes et tous des progrès qui s’ensuivent.

Après les Célèbres cinq

Le militantisme pour l’égalité des sexes n’a pris ni naissance ni fin avec les Célèbre cinq. Au moment de porter l’affaire devant les tribunaux en 1927, en Alberta, celles-ci s’inscrivent dans une longue lignée de femmes influentes d’horizons divers ayant su vaincre les obstacles et fait avancer la cause de l’égalité des sexes à leur propre époque. Cette lignée inclut Mary Ann Shadd Cary, militante des droits de la personne et première noire d’Amérique du Nord à publier un journal. Elle inclut aussi Idola St-Jean et Thérèse Casgrain, qui ont milité farouchement pour le droit de vote des Québécoises. Et que dire de Mary Two-Axe Early, qui s’est battue pour les femmes autochtones dépossédées de leur statut d’Indienne après avoir marié des non-Indiens? Dans les années qui ont suivi, d’innombrables autres femmes et hommes ont multiplié les efforts pour faire du Canada une société pleinement égalitaire. Encore bien présent, cet esprit de militantisme et de justice sociale est récompensé chaque année par les Prix du Gouverneur général en commémoration de l’affaire « personne ».

Date de modification :